Tag: Sinclair Broadcast Group

Amy Villarreal

2023 Broadcaster of the Year

(Published August 2023)

A spokesperson for women in broadcasting…

A proven performer…

A mentor and motivator…

A passionate leader brimming with enthusiasm and a sincerely caring heart

A true testament to the saying “hard work pays off.”

This is how friends and colleagues describe Amy Villarreal.

Amy Villarreal

After graduating from UT-Austin, Amy started her media career in Houston and then was hired for a sales position at KVEO-TV in the Rio Grande Valley.

There, she worked for former TAB Chair and Pioneer Broadcaster of the Year Patti C. Smith – who Amy still considers a good friend and mentor.

Amy has served as the Vice President and General Manager of KEYE-TV Austin – the CBS affiliate in her alma mater’s home town – since 2005, immersing herself in the city’s business, educational and charitable communities at every level.

In 2009, she launched the market’s first Telemundo affiliate, expanding the universe of Spanish-language news and entertainment programming for an increasingly diverse community.

She’s intent on providing unbiased local news and impactful community service to English and Spanish-language viewers in Central Texas.

Sinclair Broadcast Group purchased the stations in 2012 and Amy has continued to guide KEYE’s programming to focus on Austin’s dynamic growth and the stories of the diverse communities behind it.

In 2018, Amy won a Lone Star Emmy Award as executive producer of “Austin After Hours,” a long-form program telling the stories of Austin’s music, restaurant, and entertainment scene.

Sinclair promoted Amy to Associate Group Manager in 2020 and she now also oversees stations in the Amarillo, Beaumont, Corpus Christi, and Abilene markets– in addition to Sinclair stations in Oklahoma and Arkansas.

In addition to her work as a broadcaster, Amy also has a passion for volunteering and giving back to the industry and her local community – serving on Boards for UT’s Briscoe Center for American History, Rodeo Austin, the Headliners Foundation and many more.

She has twice termed out of service as a Director on the TAB Board and currently serves as an officer on the Executive Committee and will Chair the Board in the 2023-2024.

In the halls of the state Capitol and Congress alike, she is a powerful and effective advocate for the industry.

Whether it entails wrangling with the FCC over regulation, arguing to preserve AM Radio in cars, or drilling down into the competitive pressures on broadcast Television and the invaluable local journalism we provide.

Return to Previous Winners

Continue reading

David Ostmo

2018 Distinguished Service Award

(Published August 2018)

TAB’s Distinguished Service Award honors an individual who – in the spirit of volunteerism – has made a significant and lasting contribution to the advancement of TAB and the Texas broadcast industry.

Based in San Antonio, Ostmo oversees the technical operations for 29 Sinclair stations in Texas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, Iowa, and Utah.

David Ostmo

A 42-year industry veteran with stints as a Producer, Director, News Editor, Radio Station Program Director and Television Producer, he knows how important it is to get a handle on new technology and figure out the most effective ways to put it to work at stations.

For the past 12 years, Ostmo has championed the development of the technical program for the TAB Convention & Trade Show and its focus on cutting-edge developments in the industry.

“David’s natural curiosity makes him a walking encyclopedia of who’s who and what’s what in our rapidly evolving business,” said TAB President Oscar Rodriguez.

His expertise has helped TAB present meaningful content that drives attendance and exhibits.

That, in turn, drives revenue and allows the association to further invest in important services and advocacy for the industry.

“Whether it involves a top-flight technology lab or a couple gearheads tinkering in their garage, David Ostmo is sure to know about it and whether it has real promise. His boundless exuberance and sheer joy of sharing knowledge drives him to bring those insights to bear for the benefit of all broadcasters,” Rodriguez said.

Return to Previous Winners

Continue reading

All content Copyright © 2024 Texas Association of Broadcasters