Tag: Radio Ranch Group Kerrville

Mark Grubbs

2021 Pioneer Broadcaster of the Year

(Published August 2021)

TAB’s Pioneer of the Year has always believed that broadcast success is a combination of consistently applied fundamentals and a commitment to community service.

Mark Grubbs has been the owner/operator of the Ranch Radio Group stations in the Texas Hill Country since 1993.

Grubbs got his start at KEYS Corpus Christi but spent most of his early career with Waterman Broadcasting at powerhouse KTSA San Antonio.

Fifteen years at KTSA! That was unheard of in the business at the time.

“Even his competitors couldn’t help but acknowledge his presence in the market. He set an example for all other sales executives – he was inside every door at every agency and client in town,” said former TAB President John Barger.

“He was personable, out-going, knowledgeable and professional – hard to beat!”

After a seven-year competitive FCC battle, Grubbs and his business partner were able to build and operate 94.7 FM in Austin. Didn’t go so well in Austin.

As he says, “I got my RTV degree from OSU, my master’s from Bernie Waterman and my doctorate from Austin – when I went broke.”

Leaving Austin, he filed for a license for an FM station in Kerrville – and 92.3 “The Ranch” became the cornerstone of the Ranch Radio Group.

Grubbs is always looking for opportunities to serve his community, either with new promotion, programming, and marketing strategies to better serve listeners and local businesses, or a solution to a pressing community need.

Whether it’s serving as the official Radio station for the Gillespie County Fair or raising money for 4-H and FFA scholarships, Grubbs’ passion for serving his community is woven seamlessly into everything he and the Ranch Staff do.

At the end of the day, he’s the “Consummate Radio Guy.” You can ask him about the weather and within a minute or so – the conversation has turned to Radio.

Texas broadcasters salute Grubbs’ undying passion for the Radio business and his continuing commitment to broadcast excellence and serving the industry and local community.

Return to Previous Winners

Continue reading

All content Copyright © 2024 Texas Association of Broadcasters